Central Oregon Regional Tourism Plan

Balloons Over Bend is a family-friendly festival held each July at Riverbend Park. (Image by Christian Heeb)

The tourism region of Central Oregon lies on the eastern side of Oregon’s Cascade Mountains, consisting of Deschutes, Jefferson, Crook and Southern Wasco Counties. The Central Oregon Visitors Association (COVA) has been appointed by the members of the Central Oregon RCTP Stakeholders Committee as the tourism entity to contract with Travel Oregon to represent the region. To review Central Oregon’s regional plans, please download the documents listed under “Regional Tourism Plan Details”.

Here is an overview of the region:

RCTP grant funds complement, and are completely supported and leveraged by COVA’s larger ($2.4 million) investment strategies dedicated to Central Oregon destination marketing. As approved by RCTP Stakeholders, Central Oregon’s FY15-16 plan was designed to accommodate the biennial budget implemented by Travel Oregon, so the primary objectives and strategies of the FY16 regional plan will carry forward for the second year of execution in FY17.

These objectives include regional efforts with our tourism and economic development partners (but are not limited to) International Sales & Marketing, Generation of Domestic & International Earned Media, Destination Marketing & Commercial Air Service Development, and Domestic & International Visitor Inquiry Fulfillment. In addition, RCTP grant funds support Central Oregon’s alignment with Travel Oregon by supporting the role of COVA’s Industry Relations Manager, facilitating the Regional Convene & Communications requirements for Travel Oregon.

Read the entire 2016-2017 Executive Summary


Central Oregon

  1. Oregon Outdoor Recreation Initiative – Improving the Lives of Oregonians through Outdoor Recreation

    Do you own or work for an outdoor recreation business? Are you a frequent user of public lands for hiking,…

  2. TravelAndLeisure.com, “Road-tripping Through the New Oregon”

    Beer spas, nude hot springs, forest lodges and other wonders of an Oregon road trip. Read more here.

  3. TheDailyMeal.com, “Interview with Beard Award-Nominated Chef Joe Kim of Oregon’s 5 Fusion”

    5 Fusion & Sushi Bar in Bend is all about, well, fusion. The dishes look more like art than food,…

  4. Submit Your Oregon Travel & Tourism Award Nominations

    Do you know someone making a difference in the travel and tourism industry? Did your organization exceed its marketing goals…

  5. 2017 Travel Oregon 101 Dates Set

    A pair of statewide webinars (along with live sessions in Newberg, Corvallis and Ontario) have been set as locations for…

Want more information about Central Oregon Regional Tourism Plan?

If you have additional questions or comments about Central Oregon Regional Tourism Plan, please contact the appropriate member of the Travel Oregon staff listed below.

  1. Harry Dalgaard
  2. Scott West