Eastern Oregon Regional Tourism Plan

The hills have color in Eastern Oregon (Image by Christian Heeb)

The tourism region of Eastern Oregon represents nearly of one-third of the State of Oregon and includes the following 11 counties: Wallowa, Union, Baker, Harney, Malheur, Umatilla, Morrow, Gilliam, Sherman, Wheeler, & Grant counties. The Eastern Oregon Visitors Association (EOVA) is the tourism entity responsible for representing the region. To review Eastern Oregon’s regional plans, please download the documents listed under “Regional Tourism Plan Details”.

Here is an overview of the region:

The Board of Directors of Eastern Oregon Visitors Association (EOVA) are excited to present the 2016-2017 Regional Cooperative Tourism Program marketing plan and strategy. Over the past year we have been implementing the Eastern Oregon Tourism Strategic Plan. Outlined are five initiatives, all designed to achieve the goal of promoting our Eastern Oregon visitor experiences, while enhancing and preserving the region’s quality of life and economy. The collaborations throughout the eleven-county region, combined with our strong partnership with Travel Oregon, have quite simply been remarkable. Not only has the region experienced a significant growth in direct travel spending, contributing over $352 million dollars to the Eastern Oregon economy, but we have provided leadership models in product development for the entire state.

In presenting the Regional Cooperative Tourism Program (RCTP) for 2016-2017, EOVA is actually presenting the region’s entire tourism marketing plan.

By pooling assets from local Destination Marketing Organizations, with key stakeholders, and mixing in the RCTP funds, we will again leverage our limited resources and grow them into a robust marketing program. We continue to see the importance of investing in the further development of our Eastern Oregon product and enhancing our economy through projects that support existing businesses, while encouraging new enterprises.

By helping a rancher look at developing a ranch stay through agritourism development, or fostering the collaboration of Oregon Trail attractions, or developing art tourism trails or mountain biking trails…we are strategically helping Eastern Oregon’s tourism industry grow.

Read the entire 2016-2017 Executive Summary

Eastern Oregon

  1. Applications Open July 10 for Travel Oregon’s Competitive Small Grants Program and Oregon Wine Country Plates Matching Grants

    Travel Oregon is pleased to announce the opening of two matching grants program opportunities with a combined $358,000 of available…

  2. The Original Fare in Eastern Oregon

    In partnership with Travel Oregon and the Eastern Oregon Visitors Association, adventure and ingredient seeker Kelly Cox, creator of PBS’…

  3. Public Comment Closes May 1

    We want to hear from you! Let us know your thoughts on Travel Oregon’s 2017-2019 Draft Strategic Plan. The plan…

  4. REMINDER: Comment Period Open for Travel Oregon’s 2017-2019 Draft Strategic Plan

    Travel Oregon’s 2017-2019 Draft Strategic Plan opened for public comment on March 21, 2017. A public hearing and comment opportunity…

  5. Oregon Road Rally Returns

    Thanks to successful and collaborative partnerships throughout the state, the Great Oregon Road Rally is back for its second year.…

Want more information about Eastern Oregon Regional Tourism Plan?

If you have additional questions or comments about Eastern Oregon Regional Tourism Plan, please contact the appropriate member of the Travel Oregon staff listed below.

  1. Harry Dalgaard
  2. Scott West